Go2web20.net - Web Applications Index
Classic Go2web20 Advertise Feedback

Wednesday, January 10, 2007

Find the Differences..

Yesterday I saw this site and couldn't believe my eyes:

from SuperGu about-us:
SuperGu software combines social bookmarking, blogging, and syndication. It was inspired by Meneame, Del.icio.us and Reddit.
SuperGu supports crowdsourcing of links, images, videos, blogs, commenting and feedback. SuperGu lets you submit, discuss, and promote any content you want.

It was inspired by Meneame, Del.icio.us and Reddit?! So how come all their screenshots looks precisely like it's been copied from Digg??


Front Page:



Submit Story:



Upcoming Stories:



I bump into Digg clones every day but this is way beyond inspiration!
Moreover, this totally wrong not to even mention the word digg anywhere in their (SuperGu) introducing!

Try their Demo

Ripoff.

Digg this story in here

Update! The Demo URL redirecting now to Meneame. Weird.
posted by Orli Yakuel at 11:54 PM

17 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

As I commented on the Digg story:

Not only is it a ripoff, but they are stealing Digg user names and putting them on their site! 'parislemon' is a top user there even though i've never been to the site. To add insult to injury they use Paris Hilton as my icon!

unbelievable. this actually isn't the first site i've seen creating accounts for top digg user names either.

11:57 AM  
Anonymous Jeremy S. said...

This may bite me in the butt later, but I can't help playing the Devil's Advocate and taking the long shot with this story.

It seems almost too obvious, doesn't it? I can't help think that there may be more to this than first appears.

It makes me curious to find out the names of the people working on this project and hear what they have to say before accusing them of being a blatant Digg clone.

Then again, I could be wrong. I am taking the high risk bet here.

2:28 PM  
Anonymous Jeremy S. said...

sorry for the double post, but I forgot to mention something else about www.suprgu.com. It's very close to www.suprglu.com as far as names and web domain go.

2:39 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Isn't that nearly exactly what digg 2.0 was before they relaunched with the current digg 3.0

4:23 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

They even used the yellow for the digg shit as well. Screw those copy cat bitches

6:31 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Erm it looks a LOT more like Meneame than Digg

7:16 PM  
Anonymous Joel said...

Meneame has a Affero license that requires attribution. My guess is that they used the Meneame open-source code and modified it to look like Digg. So probably wouldn't have given Meneame recognition if it wasn't required by the open source license.

8:43 PM  
Anonymous Jope said...

Yes, they used meneame.net code. In fact, a user in meneame's blog says it's the meneame code with some CSS changes, that's all. The demo pointing to meneame is probably a direct result of this.

More info, if you understand spanish here: http://blog.meneame.net/2006/12/23/supergu-fork-interesante-del-meneame/

Really, no big deal... :)

1:06 AM  
Anonymous multikm said...

seem like the site has been hacked... so far. can't preview the clone digg at this moment

3:01 AM  
Anonymous Anthony Feint said...

This is just another sad digg clone. I dont think copying the design is as bad as copying the concept.

4:46 AM  
Anonymous Sol Invictus said...

Heh. Pretty pathetic. I really don't see the reason for another yet another Digg ripoff. Shoutwire is bad enough.

7:51 AM  
Anonymous Vietnamesetechcrunh said...

I see supergu hacked ? this time.!

11:36 AM  
Anonymous Lefty said...

It looks as though they've torn down the site (or are maybe claiming that they've been hacked).

"If anything happens to my daughter while she's out with you, I've got a .45 and I've got a shovel. I doubt anybody would miss you."--Dan Hedeya's as "Mel Horowitz" in Clueless

5:04 PM  
Anonymous Farah Tan said...

Anthony and Sol: Copying the concept is not really bad as it help out people to create niche version of digg like www.armchairgm.com (sports), www.gotlah.com (humours), or plugim.com (internet marketing). However I am not too sure how successful are these sites except for Armchairgm which is doing quite good.

The problem is that supergu is a vapourware based on another system called pligg which power most of the english sites. I been tracking supergu along time and yet there has been a whole lot of promises but no progress.

6:36 AM  
Anonymous Gotlah said...

As far as I know, PlugIM is doing all right.
Our site, http://www.Gotlah.com, we changed it to another CMS instead of Pligg or Supergu.

Supergu been in limbo for ages and Pligg never evolved into anything interesting. It was very buggy when we last used it.

As for copying? Sam Walton once said that he copied all his best ideas from his competitors.

We dont think we are copying Digg.com,
Gotlah serve another purpose which for fun and cool stuff our community find online.

8:12 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

what happened supergu? will we use it?

4:29 PM  
Blogger red said...

Thank you very much for this information.

sohbet muhabbet

3:03 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home